• Lange Special Services

     

    Our Mission: To individualize the instruction and supports necessary for students in special education to reach their educational goals. 

     

    Meet the team!

    Lucas DeLaporte              Department Chair  LDeLaporte@cpsk12.org
     Madalynn Million  Diagnostician  MMillion@cpsk12.org
     Andrew Selders  School Psychologist  ASelders@cpsk12.org
     Sandhya Sharma  Speech & Language   SSharma@cpsk12.org
     Melissa Manie  SPED Teacher - 6th ELA  MManie@cpsk12.org
     Evan Holder  SPED Teacher - 6th Math  EHolder@cpsk12.org
     Kelly Waltz  SPED Teacher - 7th ELA  KWaltz@cpsk12.org
     Angee Whitesides  SPED Teacher - 7th Math  AWhitesides@cpsk12.org
     Jenni Burt  SPED Teacher - 7th grade  JBurt@cpsk12.org
     LaVetta Hodges  SPED Teacher - 8th ELA  LHodges@cpsk12.org
     Deanna Null  SPED Teacher - 8th ELA  DNull@cpsk12.org
     Andrew Hein   SPED Teacher - 8th Math  AHein@cpsk12.org
     Beth White  ELL Teacher  ElWhite@cpsk12.org
     Cecilia Peters  ELL Support  CPeters@cpsk12.org
     Angela Lewis  Reading Specialist  ALewis@cpsk12.org
     Erin Ruthven  Reading Specialist  ERuthven@cpsk12.org

     

    Resources:

     

    New SPED classes

    The school year 2020-2021 will see 2 new classes join our list of sped courses. English E and Reading for Success.

    • English E 6, English E 7, English E 8 and Math E6:
      • Special education English class led by a Special Education teacher who will service students in small groups settings to address prioritized grade level standards.
    • Reading for Success using the Wilson Reading System (WRS):
      • WRS is an intensive Tier 3 program for students in grades 2-12 and adults with word-level deficits who are not making sufficient progress through their current intervention; have been unable to learn with other teaching strategies and require multisensory language instruction; or who require more intensive structured literacy instruction due to a language-based learning disability, such as dyslexia. WRS directly and systematically teaches the structure of the English language. Through the program, students learn fluent decoding and encoding skills to the level of mastery.

     

    Returning classes

    • Co-Teaching Math and English:
      • Students with IEP’s will be serviced in a general education classroom where a general education and special education teacher will work together to address grade level standards.
    • Skills for Success:
      • Coursework is prepared to address reading, writing, executive functioning skills, critical thinking, and speaking & listening and behaviors.
    • Math E6:
      • A comprehensive math intervention curriculum that targets middle students. Using a dual-topic approach, this class improves math skills by emphasizing fewer topics in greater depth while accelerating students to more advanced math, from number sense to rational numbers, to understanding algebra. Students who struggle with math will find new concept mastery and confidence.

     

    Discontinued classes

    • Reading Apps
    • Writing Apps
    • NOTE: The content taught in these courses will be covered in English E, Reading for Success and Co-Teach English

     

    The Special Services Department continues to update its website for parents and families. The most notable updates include questions and answers for families. We have added a link to the Special Services website from the CPS Official COVID-19 page.