• Gentry Clubs 2018-2019

     

    Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA) -  This club is for 6th-8th grade students and is a place where athletes (and non-athletes) can learn more about being a positive influence.  Mr. Jeffries (Room 203)  Djeffries@cpsk12.org

     

    7th & 8th Grade Robotics Club -  This club focuses on building and programming robots.  Because we have a limited amount of kits, this club will be capped at the first 16 students who sign up.  7th grade Robotics Club starts in October and the 8th grade Robotics Club starts in January.   Mr. Helmick (Room 152)  jhelmick@cpsk12.org

     

    MAC Scholars -  This club is for 6th- 8th grade students and focuses on providing historically underrepresented students with the necessary skills they need to achieve success academically, emotionally and socially.  Students must have a 3.0 or higher GPA.   Miss Finley (Room 113)  Shfinley@cpsk12.org

     

    Kiwanis Builders Club -  This club is for 6th- 8th grade students and focuses on building character and leadership through service.  Mrs. Froidl (Room 205)   mfroidl@cpsk12.org

     

    6th Grade Intramurals This club is for 6th grade students and is designed to help develop personal growth, wellness and sportsmanship through athletics.  Ms. Paetzold (gym and outside)  spaetzold@cpsk12.org

     

    Science Olympiad - This club is for 6th-8th grade students who enjoy learning more about science topics, research and experiments AND who are willing and able to do extra work outside of school to prepare for special events.   Mrs. Duncan (room 116)  dduncan@cpsk12.org

     

    American Red Cross Club - This club is for 6th-8th grade students and focuses on service through organizing blood drives, learning emergency preparedness skills including first aid and CPR and connecting with other youth volunteers.  Miss Finley (Room 113)  shfinley@cpsk12.org

     

    Student Council (STUCO)-  This club is for 6th-8th grade students.  Members will help with service projects, school beautification projects, teacher/student recognition activities and GMS Spirit Days.  Ms. Noltie (Trailer L)  Bnoltie@cpsk12.org

    Math Counts - This club is for 6th-8th grade students and will offer them the chance to explore the world of mathematics and logic through dynamic problem solving and deduction.  A desire to explore and explain is a must!   Mr. Barhorst (Annex C)  fbarhorst@cpsk12.org 

     

    World Culture Club – This club is for 6th-8th grade students.  It will give them the chance to learn about different traditions, celebrations, food and crafts from a wide variety of countries.  Mrs. Froidl mfroidl@cpsk12.org  Mrs. Trotter jtrotter@cpsk12.org  Meets in room 205

     

    Games Club - This club is for 6th-8th grade students who are interested in playing board games such as Chess, Battleship, Mancala, Yahtzee, Apples to Apples, etc.  Mrs. Trotter jtrotter@cpsk12.org   Mrs. Bess jbess@cpsk12.org   Mrs. Powell bpowell@cpsk12.org  Upstairs Commons

     

    6th Grade student Book/Art Club - If you are a 6th grade student who loves to read and draw, then this club is for you!  Students will be creating art projects to advertise their favorite books to recommend to other GMS students.  Mrs. Carso (Room 207)  acarso@cpsk12.org

     

    6th Grade Parent/Student Book Club -  If you are a 6th grade student and you love to read and talk about books, then this club would be a wonderful way for you to get involved.  Ms. Hummel ahummel@cpsk12.org  Ms. Carso acarso@cpsk12.org  Room 217

     

    Jaguar Pride -  This club is for 6th-8th grade students who are interested in supporting the rights and happiness of all people.  Ms. Cunningham cacunningham@cpsk12.org   Ms. Maynard emaynard@cpsk12.org  Room 216

     

    Tennis (and table tennis) Club -  This club is for 6th-8th grade students who like to play tennis and/or table tennis.  The purpose is to be physically active while learning and playing a lifetime sport.  Mr. Swartz  sswartz@cpsk12.org  Meet at locker room area.

     

    Pep Band -  This club is for 8th grade students who love to play an instrument for special events.

     

    Jazz Band - This club is for 7th/8th grade students.  Ms. Quest aquest@cpsk12.org  Room 170

     

    Gentry Glee Singers -  This choir is open to all 6th-8th grade students who like to sing and perform in concerts.  Ms. Lenz (Annex N)  dlenz@cpsk12.org

     

    Jaguar Sound (GMS Show Choir) - This club is for 6th-8th grades students and is an AUDITIONED dance choir.  Ms. Lenz (Annex N)  dlenz@cpsk12.org

     

    Gentry Chess Club - This club is open to all 6th-8th grade students who want to learn more about chess or who want to improve their chess playing techniques.   Mrs. Froidl (Room 205)  mfroidl@cpsk12.org

     

    Gentry Ambassadors-  This is for 6th-8th grade students who demonstrate good communication, citizenship and leadership skills.  GMS Ambassadors help new students learn more about the GMS community.  Contact the Guidance Office for more information.

     

    NASP Archery in the school’s program -  This indoor activity is for 6th-8th grade students who want to learn how to safely set up an archery range, maintain tournament bows and participate in the sport of archery target shooting.  This club has a $35 fee and space is limited.  Ms. Roberds (Room 150) aroberds@cpsk12.org

     

    Gentry Honor Guard -  Open to 6th-8th grade students who have an interest in helping raise and lower our U.S. flag before and after school.  Mrs. Froidl (Room 205)  mfroidl@cpsk12.org