Advancement Via Individual Determination 
AVID is a world-wide nonprofit organization that operates with the guiding principal of holding students accountable to the highest standards, providing academic and social support, and students rise to the challenge.  AVID's mission is to close the achievement gap by preparing all students for college readiness and success in a global society. The program brings research-based curriculum and strategies to students that develop critical thinking, literacy, and math skills across all content areas. 
AVID is a program for all students, but targets those in the academic middle and those who are usually under-served at the college level. These students have the potential for success in AP and honors courses, but need to develop the skills to be successful.  AVID's systematic approach is designed to support students and teachers by combining rigor with support that includes the student's own individual determination, support from teachers, other AVID students and their families, and the AVID tutors. It is not a study hall, at-risk or outreach program. Students must learn and apply the skills they are taught in their AVID elective class as well as do the academically rigorous and challenging work required. 
The AVID program began at Battle High School when we opened our doors for the first time in August 2013.  The program began with two sections: one freshman and one sophomore class. In the fall of 2015 we are excited have two freshman classes, two sophomore classes, one junior class and one senior class.