Early Childhood Education

  • Early Childhood Special Education (ECSE) is a program designed to address the developmental learning needs of children ages 3-5. Certificated staff work closely with families and community resources to enhance the social/emotional, physical, learning, and communication development of young children. Educational plans are developed and tailored to each child as an individual and specially designed services are provided accordingly at no cost to parents. We are proud of our success in providing services for ECSE students with their typically developing peers, whether in a community preschool or specially designed setting.

      Amy Wilson  
    Amy Wilson, Coordinator

     
  • Parents As Teachers 

    Parents as Teachers is a home-school-community partnership that supports parents in their role as their child's first and most influential teachers. What began with four pilot sites in 1981 was implemented statewide with the passage of the Early Childhood Development Act of 1984. This bill mandated that every school district provide parent education and screening services to families with children ages birth to five. 

    Kristine Smith

    Kristine Smith, Coordinator

  • Columbia Public Schools offers a developmentally-appropriate education through which young children actively build their individual potential in a positive, nurturing, culturally diverse environment. Title I Preschool is a federally funded program providing services to children with developmental needs, ages 3 to 5 (non-kindergarten) years of age. Services are provided at no cost to eligible children. Eligibility is determined through a developmental screening process.

    Nicole Langston  
    Nicole Langston, Director  

CPS Early Childhood Department Contact Information

  • Center for Early Learning - North

    Mary Ankeney
    Occupational Therapist
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    MAnkeney@cpsk12.org

    Kenneth Asher
    Instructional Aide
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    KAsher@cpsk12.org

    Deborah Bagley
    Instructional Aide
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3985
    DBagley@cpsk12.org

    Jamie Barbarick
    Speech/Language Pathologist
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    Jbarbarick@cpsk12.org

    Susan Berrey
    Teacher Preschool
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3585
    SBerrey@cpsk12.org

    Rochelle Birk
    Teacher Early Childhood Special Education
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    RBirk@cpsk12.org

    Renee Block
    Instructional Aide
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3985
    RBlock@cpsk12.org

    Karen Bostrom Gregg
    Parent Educator
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3955
    KBostrom@cpsk12.org

    Jana Breedlove
    Speech/Language Pathologist
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    JBreedlove@cpsk12.org

    Karla Brodersen
    Instructional Aide
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    kbrodersen@cpsk12.org

    Crystal Brooke
    Instructional Aide
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3585
    cbrooke@cpsk12.org

    Amanda Bryan
    Speech/Language Pathologist
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    ABryan@cpsk12.org

    Mark Bryan
    Physical Therapist
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    MBryan@cpsk12.org

    Raina Bueno
    Speech/Language Pathologist
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    RBueno@cpsk12.org

    Laura Calentine
    Instructional Aide
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    LCalentine@cpsk12.org

    Marin Campmier
    Instructional Aide
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    MCampmier@cpsk12.org

    Leslie Carey
    Parent Educator
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3955
    LCarey@cpsk12.org

    Celina Castleman
    Instructional Aide
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    CCastleman@cpsk12.org

    Karla Childs
    Permanent Substitute
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    kchilds@cpsk12.org

    En khee Chong
    Instructional Aide
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3950
    AChong@cpsk12.org

    Lisa Clair
    Kitchen Manager
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3955
    LClair@cpsk12.org

    Jennifer Clouse
    Instructional Aide
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3985
    JClouse@cpsk12.org

    Kendra Collard
    Secretary Preschool
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3585
    KCollard@cpsk12.org

    Pamela Curd
    Parent Educator
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3955
    pcurd@cpsk12.org

    Elizabeth Denzel
    Instructional Aide
    Center for Early Learning North
    573-214-3985
    EDenzel@cpsk12.org

    Early Childhood Discovery Center

    Dava Coats
    Teacher Early Childhood Special Education
    Early Childhood Discovery Center
    573-214-3430
    dcoats@cpsk12.org

    Shannon Garrett
    Teacher Early Childhood Special Education
    Early Childhood Discovery Center
    573-214-3430
    SGarrett@cpsk12.org

    Nicole Hatchett
    Speech/Language Pathologist
    Early Childhood Discovery Center
    573-214-3430
    NHatchett@cpsk12.org

    Elizabeth Heiberg
    Teacher Early Childhood Special Education
    Early Childhood Discovery Center
    573-214-3430
    EHeiberg@cpsk12.org

    Amy Marrero
    Speech/Language Pathologist
    Early Childhood Discovery Center
    573-214-3430
    AMarrero@cpsk12.org

    Patricia Mccrary
    Secretary
    Early Childhood Discovery Center
    573-214-3430
    PMcCrary@cpsk12.org

    Kimberly Rogers
    Teacher Early Childhood Special Education
    Early Childhood Discovery Center
    573-214-3430
    krogers@cpsk12.org

    Theresa Smith
    Teacher Early Childhood Special Education
    Early Childhood Discovery Center
    573-214-3430
    TSmith@cpsk12.org

    Linda Stuart-Doss
    Instructional Aide
    Early Childhood Discovery Center
    573-214-3430
    ldoss@cpsk12.org

    Desjamone Turner Hickem
    Custodian
    Early Childhood Discovery Center
    573-214-3430
    DTurnerHickem@cpsk12.org

    Jessica White
    Teacher Early Childhood Special Education
    Early Childhood Discovery Center
    573-214-3430
    jewhite@cpsk12.org

    Julie Wilson
    Instructional Aide
    Early Childhood Discovery Center
    573-214-3430
    JuWilson@cpsk12.org

    Lisa Zartman
    Teacher Early Childhood Special Education
    Early Childhood Discovery Center
    573-214-3430
    LZartman@cpsk12.org

     

Peachjar Flyers