Return to Headlines

Rock Bridge High School senior selected as U.S. Presidential Scholar

Rock Bridge High School Senior Kyle Chen has been selected as a U.S. Presidential Scholar. 


Kyle is Columbia Public Schools’ 23rd Presidential Scholar since the program began by executive order of the President in 1964. 


Kyle was selected as one of two Missouri high school seniors to join the 58th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars along with 161 students from across the country. The Presidential Scholars Class of 2022 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement at a White House-sponsored ceremony later this June.


Inclusion in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program is one of the highest honors bestowed upon graduating high school seniors. Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and involvement in community and school activities.


The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program has honored more than 7,900 of the nation’s top-performing students since its inception in

by Executive Order of the President in 1964 to recognize some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating seniors for their accomplishments in many areas: academic success, leadership, and service to school and community. It was expanded in 1979 to recognize students demonstrating exceptional scholarship and talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts. In 2015, the program was expanded once again to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical fields.


Annually, up to 161 U.S. Presidential Scholars are chosen from among that year’s senior class, representing excellence in education and the promise of greatness in America’s youth. All Scholars are invited to Washington, DC in June for the National Recognition Program, featuring various events and enrichment activities and culminating in the presentation of the Presidential Scholars Medallion during a White House ceremony.


Just over 5,000 of the 3.7 million students expected to graduate from high school this year qualified for the 2021 awards.


Candidates were recognized for outstanding performance on the College Board SAT and ACT exams, or through nominations by Chief State School Officers, other partner recognition organizations, and the National YoungArts Foundation’s nationwide program.