Return to Headlines

Battle High School teacher earns national recognition

Battle High School AVID Coordinator Leslie Aguilar has been named the Missouri recipient of the first-ever National University System-Sanford Teacher Award in recognition of her inspirational teaching. 

Aguilar, along with 50 other teachers, representing each state, and the District of Columbia, will each receive $10,000 for demonstrating their commitment to creating inspirational and harmonious classrooms that support student development and achievement.

The award is in the name of philanthropist T. Denny Sanford, who is committed to supporting inspiring teaching nationwide through PreK-12 programs that are being expanded nationally by the National University System. Each of the teacher recipients qualify for a chance to be recognized as the national winner of the Sanford Teacher Award, which will be named in early 2019.

The recipients were selected by a committee of educators based on an application process that included nominations and information on each teacher to assess how closely they represent characteristics of inspiring teaching, which included: Enthusiasm for teaching; empathy and warmth towards all students; fostering positive relationships with all students; creating a positive learning environment; and recognizing student strengths.