Return to Headlines

Hickman physics teacher receives national recognition

Hickman Physics Teacher Alex Soper has been recognized by the Physics Teacher Education Coalition for excellence in the classroom.  He is one of eight teachers nationwide to be recognized for his outstanding commitment to his school and the physics community. 

The Physics Teacher Education Coalition (PhysTEC) PhysTEC Teacher of the Year award is designed to highlight the impact of recent graduates from physics teacher preparation programs in the classroom. Each of the winners was nominated by the PhysTEC member institution from which they graduated or received their teaching credentials. Soper was nominated by the University of Missouri-Columbia.  

PhysTEC aims to improve the education of future physics teachers by transforming physics departments, creating successful models for physics teacher education programs, and disseminating best practices. The project has supported more than 40 sites to build physics teacher education programs and established a national coalition of over 300 institutions committed to improving physics teacher preparation.

The PhysTEC project receives funding from the National Science Foundation and the American Physical Society Campaign for the 21st Century and is led by the American Physical Society in partnership with the American Association of Physics Teachers.