Return to Headlines

17 students qualify for Missouri FBLA competition

FBLA advisors Anne Hickman and Melanie Leary of Battle High School, Kristi Deneke and Colleen Goss of Hickman High School, and Sandy Morrow from Columbia Area Career Center have announced the results of the Future Business Leaders of America District 6 competition that was held on Friday, February 6, at Moberly Area Community College in Moberly. Students finishing in the top five places for written tests and in first place for team events qualified to advance to the FBLA state conference on April 12-14, 2015, in Springfield, Missouri, for the chance to move on to nationals which will be held in Chicago, Illinois. Results:
Hickman High School
Accounting 1: Sam Lange (3rd)
Business Law: Sam Lange (3rd)
Economics: Sam Lange (1st), Sami Baugher (3rd), and Junyi Wu (Wildcard)
Personal Finance: Zuhair Thabit (4th)
Desktop Publishing: Zoie Freck and Allison Frappier (4th)
Banking and Finance: Sami Baugher and Junyi Wu (2nd)
Digital Video Production: Cole Nelson and Judy Steinhoff (2nd)
Client Services: Jesse Vangilder (2nd)
Management Decision Making: Allison Fulcher, Nick Nelson, and Max Parry (3rd)
Entrepreneurship: Amy Hsu and Najah Thabit (4th)
Marketing: Amy Hsu, Najah Thabit, and Zuhair Thabit (5th)
Business Ethics: Angela Marulanda, Nathan Min, and Austin Richardson (1st)
Sports and Entertainment Management: Sami Baugher and Charlie Dranginis (1st)
Battle High School
Computer Problem Solving: Mohamed El-Walid (2nd)
Personal Finance: Justis Leach (5th)
Digital Video Production: Josie Anglin and Garrick Stoker (4th)
Public Service Announcement: Carter Fugit, Laura Hickey, and Collette Pippin (4th)
Marketing: Olivia Child and Madalynn Owens (4th)
Impromptu Speaking: Julian Richardson (5th)
Computer Gaming and Simulation (Straight-to-State Event): Morrow Dothage, Mohamed El-Walid, and Harleigh Wacker
Columbia Area Career Center
Business Law: Brett Norton (2nd)
Business Math: Joy Park (1st)
Economics: Matt Orf (2nd), Alex Parks (Wild Card)
Introduction to Business Communications: Joy Park (4th)
Personal Finance: Matt Orf (3rd)
Desktop Publishing Team: Stephanie LeBlanc and Joy Park (3rd)