Return to Headlines

Hickman students earn state journalism awards

Three Hickman High School journalism students earned state recognition from the Missouri Journalism Education Association (MJEA). MJEA is the largest state scholastic journalism organization formed to help protect and enhance scholastic journalism in Missouri. The organization supports free and responsible scholastic journalism by providing resources and educational opportunities, by promoting professionalism, by encouraging and rewarding student excellence and teacher achievement, and by fostering an atmosphere which encompasses diversity yet builds unity. The MJEA Individual Student awards were designed to honor the very best in student writing, photography, design, and video storytelling in Missouri.
  • 2016 Opinion Story of the Year
    Samantha Leal 
    has been named one of two MJEA 2016 Opinion Story of the Year State Winners. The opinion story of the year had to be a published written story that could include editorial, bylined commentary, blog or review. According to MJEA, "these students submitted impressive pieces of work and were judged by a highly-qualified judging team." Samantha won for her December 2015 opinion column "Green Eggs & Samm" titled "Prejudice Over Empathy," advocating for the necessity of change in our schools and society's culture gap.  Read Samantha's story
  • 2016 Portrait Photo of the YearAlofs photo
    Noah Frick-Alofs
     has been named the runner-up in MJEA's 2016 Portrait Photo of the Year. This competitive award was given for excellence in portrait photography composition and artistry.
  • 2016 Honor Roll
    Noah Frick-Alofs
     has been named one of the 2016 MJEA Honor Roll recipients. To be named a member of the honor roll, seniors must have achieved a 3.75 or higher grade point average and worked in student media for two or more years.MJEA Cover
  • 2016 Newspaper Front Page Design
    Abby Wade has been named the runner-up in MJEA's 2016 Newspaper Front Page Design Competition. This competitive award was given for excellence in design and implementation of artistic, expressive, and innovative cover design work.