Return to Headlines

2017 Presidential Scholar semifinalists (posted 6/16/17)

Congratulations to Rock Bridge High School seniors Kaylin Maggard and Richard Shang, who were selected as semifinalists for the 2017 U.S. Presidential Scholars program. Kaylin and Richard are among 11 students selected from the state of Missouri.
The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects honored students annually based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals. The program was established by Executive Order of the President in 1964 to recognize some of the nation's most distinguished graduating seniors. Students are selected from nearly 3.2 million graduating high school seniors, approximately 3,300 students were identified as candidates in this program. About 550 students from across the U.S. were selected as semifinalists based on their academic accomplishments. In April, the Commission on Presidential Scholars reviews the applications of all semifinalists and names up to 141 Academic Scholars. Additionally, up to 20 Arts Scholars are named each year on the basis of a student's academic and artistic scholarship in the visual arts, the performing arts, or creative writing.