Return to Headlines

Eight CPS students recognized for outstanding writing

Eight Columbia Public Schools students were selected for their outstanding writing in the 2021 Missouri Writing Region of the Scholastic Writing Awards Contest. 

Winners were selected from hundreds of submissions we received throughout Missouri and the Kansas City, Kansas area. Winning pieces will be published in Missouri Youth Write, an online publication which will be available in June 2021. Gold Key winners move on to the national level, and winners of a national award will be notified in mid-March. 

Mina Chen, Battle High School, 2 Silver Key Awards

Robin Crouch, Hickman High School, Gold Key Award

Grace Gomez-Palacio, Hickman High School, 3 Gold Key Awards and 1 Honorable Mention Award

Anna Waters, Hickman High School, 1 Honorable Mention Award

Jenna Lin, John Warner Middle School, 4 Gold Key Awards

Victor Petruc, John Warner Middle School, 1 Honorable Mention Award

Ziqi Zhang, Smithton Middle School, 1 Honorable Mention Award

Adelyn Gibbs, West Middle School, Silver Key Award